content image

About our Building Blocks Program

Cover fundamental aspects of five science subjects over the course of a year. 

The Building Blocks Series is based on an upward-spiral teaching method where the 5 core disciplines (chemistry, biology, physics, geology, and astronomy) are repeatedly visited and built upon over months and each year.

Spiral learning is proven to lead to better long-term mastery of facts and concepts and is effective for all learners, including struggling learners, and is the first research-based recommendation in a practice guide from the U.S. Department of Education’s Institute of Educational Sciences (Pashler et al., 2007).

Give it a try

Want to give our product a test run? Download our sample sets any Book Level to try the full program. Included in the sample sets are 3 chapters each of the student text, teacher’s manual and laboratory workbook, plus the corresponding chapters for the lesson plan, study notebook, quiz questions and graphics package.

Book Level Sample Sets:

Book 1, Book 2, Book 3, Book 4, Book 5, Book 6, Book 7, (Book 8 coming soon).

Need help choosing a level? See our assessment chart.



Covers all 5 subjects: astronomy, biology, chemistry, geology, physics


What does Building Blocks offer?

  • Upward-spiral teaching method.
  • Yearly progressive increase in complexity.
  • 5 integrated core disciplines.
  • One-year of study with 22 chapters.
  • 44 hands-on experiments each year.


What will my child get from doing Building Blocks? 

  • Better long-term mastery of facts and concepts.
  • Increased depth and comprehension.
  • High school, college, and career readiness.
  • Laboratory skills doing “hands-on” experiments.
  • Experience collecting data, drawing and evaluating conclusions.
  • Deeper understanding by exploring connections between science and history, philosophy, technology, and critical thinking.

How to Use

When your books arrive:

  • Use the Lesson Plan to map out your week.
  • On day 1 read the Student Text with your child or have them read alone.
  • On day 2 review the laboratory experiment with your child and collect materials.
  • On day 3 have your child perform the laboratory experiment and record data in the Laboratory Notebook.
  • On day 4 review any connections to other disciplines your child is interested in.
  • On day 5 have your child take the self-test or quiz.


Choose your bundle

Basic Bundle

  • Student Textbook
  • Laboratory Notebook
  • Teacher’s Manual
  • Lesson Plan

Study Bundle

  • Student Textbook
  • Laboratory Notebook
  • Teacher’s Manual
  • Lesson Plan
  • Midterm and Final Quiz Set
  • Study Notebook

Research Bundle

  • Student Textbook
  • Laboratory Notebook
  • Teacher’s Manual
  • Lesson Plan
  • Midterm and Final Quiz Set
  • Study Notebook
  • Graphics Package
  • Online Class

Organize your materials

Watch Dr. Keller show you a simple way to organize all the materials you will need for the hands-on experiments.